George Municipality

George Municipality: George Municipality

George, Western Cape, South Africa

George Local Municipality is located in the Western Cape province and falls within the Eden District, which is geographically the third-largest district within the Western Cape province. This district is informally known as the Garden Route, with George, its hub, nestled among the slopes of the majestic Outeniqua Mountains and flanked by the Indian Ocean to the south. George also enjoys the strategic advantage of being situated on the major transport routes between Cape Town in the south and Port Elizabeth in the east.

The municipal area includes the following: city of George; villages of Wilderness and Herolds Bay; coastal resorts such as Kleinkrantz and Victoria Bay; rural areas such as Rondevlei (east of Wilderness), Geelhoutboom, Herold, Hansmoeskraal and Waboomskraal; Uniondale and Haarlem. Adjacent municipalities and provinces are: Baviaans Local Municipality, Sarah Baartman District Municipality (previously Cacadu District Municipality) and Eastern Cape province (north-east), Kou-Kamma Local Municipality and Bitou Local Municipality (south-east), Knysna Local Municipality and Western Cape province (south), Mossel Bay Local Municipality (south-west), and Oudtshoorn Local Municipality (north-west).

Tel: (044) 801 9111, Address: York Street George
 Visual Map Search

Find pet-friendly accommodation
 Alphabetical Quick List
 Visual Map Search
 Tourism Information
Email-Address / Username: